Tutorials and Posts

Making of Crissy Gold Card Step by Step

This is a double size ACEO card.  (3.5″x5″) done completely with colored pencils.   I normally use paints or markers for an under painting but on this I wanted to just try out straight up colored pencils.
 Started with the outline in light graphite. Added some flesh tones and shadow areas.
More flesh tones and shadows. When using colored pencils, I use a lot of colors to get the flesh tones right.  I don’t have any specific colors I use.  I do tend to use a brownish red and a golden yellow/  I determine what colors after studing the reference picture.  Depending on the lighting dictates the color direction I will be using.
Now, I am just relayering the midtones and shadow to give it contrast.
Using the reference pic, I decide to use the same brown in the sweater.
Adding red to the flesh being careful not to over due it.  Too much red would make Crissy look like she has a sun burn.
Now onto the hair.
Adding red to the sweater and working on the hair some more.
Here is the final